Equity and Outreach

The Equity and Outreach Committee works collaboratively with Equity and Human Rights Services at Western to identify and promote equity issues affecting PMA members. This committee is also responsible for overseeing the PMA mentoring series, which includes planning workshops, events, and speakers on topics relevant to the PMA membership. Past speakers and topics have included: David Chilton, Conflict Management, Social Media, Stuart Knight, Networking, Getting Involved on Campus, and Kirstine Stewart.

Co-Chair: Deborah Coward,
Co-Chair: Lesley Oliver,


This committee negotiates with the University on salary, benefits, and conditions of work as they are related to remuneration for all PMA eligible personnel.

Co-Chair: Deanne Babcock,
Co-Chair: Leslie Gloor Duncan,

Marketing & Communications

The Marketing & Communications Committee supports the PMA by coordinating the association’s internal and external communications. For example, this committee produces the PMA’s newsletter, CONNECT, and organizes various association events each year.

Co-Chair: Michelle Stubnya,
Co-Chair: Jo Jennings,

Personnel Policies

The Personnel Policies Committee (PPC) is a standing committee that works with the PMA Executive to develop and negotiate new personnel policies and changes to existing policies. Committee members will work with the co-chairs of PPC and members of Western’s Human Resources team to establish these policies.

Chair: Deanne Babcock,

Support Group

The PMA Support Group provides a confidential system of peer assistance for PMA members who need advice, information and support to resolve work related issues. For assistance please email

PMA Representatives on Western Task Groups and Committees

Employee Assistance Plan Snjezana Linkes The Student Success Centre
Environment and Laboratory Safety Kyle Pollard Biochemistry
Occupational Health and Safety Committee Phin Perquin Physics & Astronomy
Kim Law Earth Sciences
Parking Appeals Craig Fellner Facilities Management
President’s Committee on the Safety of Women on Campus Jennifer Devlin Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry
President’s Standing Committee on Employment Equity
Western Staff Award of Excellence Committee  Peggy Wakabayashi Housing & Ancillary Svs
Staff Conference Steering Committee  Nicole Girotti  RDS